skip navigation

The Force are the 2018 Clark Cup Champions

By Force Staff, 05/19/18, 8:45PM CDT


Clark Cup Championship Merchandise

Fans can place orders for 2018 Clark Cup Champions merchandise through the Coaches Choice website here.

The website will be open for orders through Thursday, June 7. At that time, all orders will be processed and will take approximately 2 weeks to ship out through Coaches Choice.

The Force are the 2018 Clark Cup Champions

YOUNGSTOWN — It took 10 years, 667 games, 63 playoff games, and a battle with some fog, but for the first time in franchise history, the Fargo Force are Clark Cup champions.

The Force got a late goal from Ty Farmer and an empty-netter from captain Mark Senden to win Game 4 of the Clark Cup Final 4-2 and earn a 3-1 series win over the Youngstown Phantoms.

The Force opened the scoring on the power play in the second period when Evan Bell beat Youngstown goaltender Ivan Prosvetov with a slapper from the right point. The goal at 5:15 of the second period, Bell’s third of the playoffs, was assisted by Robbie Stucker and Grant Hebert.

Fargo doubled its lead ten minutes later when Garrett Van Wyhe redirected a shot from the point by Spencer Meier past Prosvetov. Meier was credited with the lone assist on the goal.

The Phantoms got a goal back in the final minute of the second period and tied the game early in the third period on a wrister from the left circle by Curtis Hall, but Farmer’s goal with 3:54 left in regulation was all Fargo needed.

Evan Bell set up Farmer with a pass in the neutral zone as the defender was racing up ice, and the O’Fallon, Missouri native broke through the hole between the two Phantom defenders before firing a shot past Prosvetov to give the Force a 3-2 lead. Griffin Loughran was credited with the secondary assist on the play.

Strauss Mann was huge in net, as usual, stopping 26 of 28 shots — including 10 of 11 in the third period — to backstop the Force to victory.

Senden’s empty-netter with one second left on the clock iced the game and the series.

Griffin Loughran was named Clark Cup Playoffs MVP after the game. He had 10 points (7-3-10) in 13 games this postseason for the Force, including an assist tonight.