skip navigation


By Kelsey Helland, 04/10/15, 3:45PM CDT


Former Force goalie (2010-2012) and current University of North Dakota goalie, Zane McIntyre, has been named the 2014-2015 recipient of the Mike Richter Award. The Mike Richter Award is given annually to the most outstanding goalie in NCAA Division I men’s hockey.

McIntyre appeared in all 42 of UND’s games this season and went 29-10-3 with a 2.05 goals against average and .929 save percentage. He led the nation in victories, appearances, starts and minutes played. His win total and save percentage are both ranked second-best in UND single-season history. McIntyre was named the NCHC Goaltender of the Year, an All-NCHC First Team Selection and is one of three Hobey Baker Award finalists. The winner of the Hobey Baker Award will be announced April 10th.

The Mike Richter Award is named after Mike Richter who was a part of the New York Rangers for 14 seasons. He led the Rangers to a Stanley Cup championship in 1994. Richter was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2008.

In order to be a candidate for the Mike Richter Award the following criteria must be met:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
- Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community